Connect with us


North West’s lion share of senior ministers ‘next level of sectionalism’ – Afenifere, Ohanaeze



Sociopolitical groups, Afenifere and Ohanaeze Ndigbo kicked against the allocation of ministries by President Muhammadu Buhari, with all nine ministers from the North-West receiving senior positions, describing it as “next level of sectionalism.”

Afenifere in a statement by its National Publicity Secretary, Mr Yinka Odumakin, said the appointment of the ministers was a continuation of the president’s sectionalism.

“That is next level of sectionalism, in your face, and incorrigibility. There have been complaints about all these things since the first term,” he said. “Now, it has been done in super way. So, that is the next level. Welcome to the next level.”

News continues after this Advertisement

On his part, the National Publicity Secretary of Ohanaeze, Uche Achi-Okpoga, said his group was not surprised by the development.

“We are already used to the antics of the Presidency. We were not expecting anything less. We have a President that does not mince words. He stated it in his first tenure that he would not sacrifice those who gave him 97 per cent votes to those who gave him may be five per cent. So, why should we be surprised that he gave juicy and senior positions to his kinsmen?”

Among the six geopolitical zones in the country, the North-West, the home zone of the president, which consists of Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Sokoto and Zamfara, had the highest number of ministers, all of which received senior portfolios.

The nine cabinet members from the North-West include Suleiman Adamu (Jigawa State), who was appointed Minister of Water Resources; Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna State), Minister of Finance; Major General Bashir Salihi Magashi (Kano State), Minister of Defence; Hadi Sirika (Katsina State), Minister of Aviation; Abubakar Malami (Kebbi State), Minister of Justice.

Others include: Muhammad Mahmood (Kaduna State), Minister of Environment; Sabo Nanono (Kano State), Minister of Agriculture and Development; Maigarai Dingyadi (Sokoto State), Minister of Police Affairs; and Sadiya Umar Faruk (Zamfara State), Minister of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development.

News continues after this Advertisement
News continues after this Advertisement