Cyril Ramaphosa, SA president

South African government has added Nigeria’s neighbours, Ghana in the list of countries whose citizens can enter the country without visa, but failed to extend the same privileges to Nigeria.

South Africa’s Minister of Home Affairs, Aaron Motsoaledi who announced on Thursday, that citizens of additional seven companies, including Ghana, would now be able to enter the country without visa, said the gesture will improve tourism.

He said citizens of 75 of 193 member nations of the UN, including 16 from Africa have visa free entry into South Africa.

“Tourism will soar if we relax visa requirements for entry into South Africa. We know that Tourism is very important for job creation,” he said today at a briefing in South Africa.

“Out of the 193 countries who are member states of the United Nations, the Department has granted visa-free status to 75 countries. Of these 16 are in our continent and are SADC members and 59 are from all over the world.”

South Africa had announced in September 2018, that it was finalising a number of visa waiver agreements with other countries including Ghana to allow travellers to enter the country without a visa.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here