A total of 221 candidates from 17 political parties will compete for 40 seats in the Lagos State House of Assembly on Saturday.

Of the total number of candidates, 43 are female, while 178 are male.

Alimosho State Constituency I has the highest number of contestants with 10, while Ibeju-Lekki I State Constituency, with the lowest number of contestants, has two candidates.

The All Progressives Congress and the Peoples Democratic Party are each fielding a candidate in all the 40 state constituencies. The Alliance for Democracy has 28 candidates; the All Progressives Grand Alliance, 23; and the Progressive Peoples Alliance, 20.

The remaining 70 candidates represent the Labour Party, which has 18; the National Conscience Party and the United Progressive Party, nine each; the African People Alliance, seven; and the Peoples Democratic Movement, six.

Other parties are the Mega Progressive Peoples Party and the Social Democratic Party, five candidates each; Accord, four; two each for KOWA Party, the New Nigeria Peoples Party and the Unity Party of Nigeria; and the Allied Congress Party of Nigeria, one.

Meanwhile, 16 candidates will jostle for the governorship of the state.

Two of the candidates are female, while 14 are male. Out of the 16 running mates of the candidates, six are female and 10 are male.

However, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode of the APC and Mr. Jimi Agbaje of the PDP, who are the most prominent candidates, are widely regarded as the front runners for the governorship post.

At least 10 governorship candidates had shelved their ambition and endorsed Ambode’s bid.

The candidates and their parties, include Mr. Adeshina Buruji (Accord); Mr. Obadia Akinola (Independent Democrats); Mr. Ishola Aregbesola (Action Alliance) and Babatunde Sarumi (ACPN).

Others are Abiodun Oyegunle (APA), Victor Adeniji (KOWA), Mr. Adeshina Olayokun (APGA), Mr. Sesan Olatunde (NNPP), Mr. Sylvester Eze (the Citizens Popular Party) and Mrs. Pauline Ojochide (PPA).