Governor Aminu Tambuwal of Sokoto State

Governor Aminu Tambuwal of Sokoto State on Thursday submitted the names of 22 commissioner-nominees to the House of Assembly for confirmation.

This is contained in a letter sent to the Assembly by Tambuwal and read on its floor by the clerk, Alhaji Muhammad Mainasara, in Sokoto.

The letter stated, “The nomination is in line with Section 192 of the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 as amended.

“The nominees are selected after wide consultation… and in conformity with Section 14 (4) of the constitution, they are persons of proven integrity with good track record in their various vocation.

“I am confident that, they will bring to bear their wide experience in propelling the formation and execution of government policies and programmes for the overall development of the state,” the letter reads in part.

The nominees were Deputy Governor Ahmad Aliyu, Sahabi Gada, Umar Tambuwal, Saidu Umar, Abdulkadir Jeli, Arzika Tureta, Jabbi Kilgore and Sirajo Gatawa, Tukur Alkali and Mani Maishinko.

The others were Muhammadu Sifawa, Bello Gwiwa, Suleman Usman, Nasiru Zarummai, Isah Achida, Aminu Bello, Bala Kokani, Bello Goronyo, Manir Dan’iya, Hajiya Kulu Abdullahi, Dr Shehu Kakale and Musa Ausa.

In another development, the speaker, Alhaji Salihu Maidaji, on Thursday received the Nigerian Labour Congress (NLC) on a solidarity rally to President Muhammadu Buhari’s fight against corruption in the country.

The speaker, represented by his deputy, Alhaji Abubakar Magaji, assured total commitment and partnership with NLC and all workers in Sokoto for the development of the state and the country at large.

The rally was organised by NLC in collaboration with students’ union bodies to support the president on his fight against corruption.

Meanwhile, the Assembly has resolved it will proceed on second quarter recess from Thursday, September 10 to Wednesday October 21, to enable members perform Hajj, Eid-el-Kabir, as well as independence day celebrations.