Wonders they said never ends. This has become apt in the 2015
general elections. First, the Peoples Democratic Party chaired by Mr.
IliyaYunana, was under rated by some of the party’s stakeholders,
Due to the crisis that engulfed the party in 2013, after a national
convention supervised by Dr
Since the formation of the new PDP, and the advent of Dr AdamuMuazu,
fondly called
the “game changer” they tried to reinvent itself.
In Nasarawa state, the one voice that speaks as though a thousand
people, Dr AbdullahiAdamu, the first executive governor of the state
and now senator, also joined the APC he once worked against during the
era of Solomon Ewuga to become a CPC Senator.
However, with the political development and the defection of
senator Adamu, the APC which was barely in it early formations became
strengthened with the new entrant, Adamu. This is when the pendulum and
the popularity of the APC grew stronger by the day.
Then came the December 2014 PDP primary that favoured Dr Yusuf Agabi,
which led to the defection of Mr.LabaranMaku, the former then
minister of Information, who was on the role of the PDP gubernatorial
Maku’s loss at the PDP primary election which he said he lost due to
religion joined the All Progressive Grand Alliance APGA, on which
platform he contested the governorship alongside, four others
including the incumbent governor Tanko Al-makura of the APC.
An obvious factor to the PDP’s loss in this election will not be
unconnected to the fact that Dr Agabi, a one-time permanent
secretary in the Niger Delta ministry is not popular in the
politics of Nasarawa state, being a new entrant from a minority tribe
with probably no political structures on ground. Agabi, was also
rumoured to be having an unsettled EFCC case.
Another area of concern was the success of the PDP in the presidential
Election, which won Buhari in Nasarawa state, although PDP claimed
the glory but it would be worthy of note that the votes from APGA made
Jonathan victorious in Nasarawa state. Unannounced results from the
governorship and House of Assembly elections showed that APC has won
21 seats, leaving PDP with two and Governor Almakura in a landslide
lead in six local governments so far declared by INEC out of the 13
local government.