Connect with us


NCSU Chair, Christopher Arapasopo emerges chairman of Osun NLC



NCSU Chair, Christopher Arapasopo emerges chairman of Osun NLC

By Sunday Oguntuyi, Osogbo

The Osun State Chairman of Nigeria Civil Service Union (NCSU), Comrade Christopher Arapasopo has emerged Chairman of Nigeria Labour Congress, Osun State chapter.

In the keenly contested election, held during the 7th Triennial Delegates Conference, in Osogbo, on Wednesday, Comrade Arapasopo polled a total votes of 270 to defeat his opponent, Comrade Olumide Faniran,who scored a total votes of 232.

News continues after this Advertisement

Declaring Comrade Arapasopo as the winner, National Treasurer, Nigeria Labour Congress and National President, Nigeria Union of Local Government Workers, Comrade Olatunji Ambali, who was the Electoral Officer for the election, said Comrade Arapasopo, having satisfied all the requirements put in place for the election was declared as winner.

In his acceptance speech shortly after the announcement of election result in which delegates from the 32 affiliates industrial unions in the state participated, the new chairman, Arapasopo promised to accord welfare of workers necessary priority, resuscitate Civil Service Week, embark on resuscitation of Productivity Day as well as resuscitation of Elders/ Leaders Forum to serve as think-tank for the Congress.

While commending Governor Ademola Adeleke for according priority to welfare of serving and retired civil servants in the state, he promised to lead by example.

Comrade Ambali, who spoke to newsmen after the election appreciated the immediate past Caretaker Committee for holding forth during the election.

He charged the newly elected executive members to lead with the fear of God.

He had earlier administered oath of office to the new executive members.

Other members of the newly inaugurated Osun NLC executive committee are: Mr. Taoheed Babawale and Mr.Emmanel Adegboye who were elected Vice Chairmen; Mr. Emmanuel Olawuyi who emerged Treasurer, while Mr.Akintunde Ojo and Mrs. Fatimah Olanrewaju were elected auditors.

Mrs Funke Ibrahim and Tejumade Ayansola were elected as ex- officio members.

News continues after this Advertisement
News continues after this Advertisement
Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *