Mohammadu Buhari with former President Goodluck Jonathan

Former Head of State, Gen. Mohammadu Buhari (retd), has been sworn in as Nigeria’s president.

He was sworn in as the new President and Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces at exactly
10.46am on Friday May 29, 2015 by the CJN Mahmud Mohammed.

Mohammadu Buhari with former President Goodluck Jonathan

He took over from Goodluck Jonathan who has led the country since the death of Umaru Musa Yar’Adua in 2010.

His swearing-in makes history as Nigeria’s first switch of power from a ruling party to an opposition.

Jonathan’s Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) ruled Nigeria since 1999 when the country returned to democracy. Buhari belongs to the All Progressives Congress.

This is also Buhari’s second time ruling Nigeria. He seized power through a military coup in 1983 but was toppled by another coup in 1985.

The Eagles Square erupt in jubilation and rounds of applause by the audience when former President Goodluck Jonathan joined Buhari on the podium before he was sworn in.

Buhari’s wife Aisha, also joined the party.

Earlier, Vice President Yemi Osinbanjo was sworn in as the Vice President of Nigeria by the CJN, Mahmud Mohammed.

He was escorted to the podium by his wife where he took his oath of office and allegiance at exactly10.36am.

Opening prayers were offered by FCT Chairman of Christian Association of Nigeria, Rev. Peter Akanji, on behalf of CAN president Ayo Oritsejafor.

The deputy Chief Imam of the national Mosque,  Ibrahim Bakari, offered the Muslim prayer.

President Buhari had arrived Eagles Square at exactly 9:40 a.m. the time of his arrival as stated in the programme of events.