Senator Ahmed Lawan, new Senate President.

Senator Ahmed Lawan has been elected the Senate President of the 9th National Assembly.

He polled 79 votes to defeat his rival Senator Ali Ndume, who had 28 votes.

Senator Lawan represents the All Progressive Congress in the Yobe North Constituency of Yobe State.

Detail later.