Kaduna state governor, Alhaji Mukhtar Yero, Sunday conceded defeat to the APC governorship candidate, Mallam Nasir El-Rufai who emerged as the winner of Saturday’s governorship election in the state.

According to the results announced by the INEC Returning Officer for Kaduna state, Prof. Jafaru Makau Kaura,  the APC polled a total of 1,117,635 votes to defeat the PDP which scored a total of 485,833 votes.
The PDP has been in power in the state for the past 16 years.

Spokesman of Kaduna state APC Campaign Council, Mr. Samuel Aruwan in a statement in Kaduna, disclosed that Yero called El-Rufai on telephone about 3:00pm to congratulate him.

“He congratulated El-Rufai and wished him success. He prayed for peace and development of Kaduna state and Nigeria at large.

”El-Rufai in his response thanked Yero and wished him all the best and hoped to see him soon,” Aruwan said in the statement.

The  APC won in 17 out of the 23 local government areas of the state while the PDP won in the remaining six local governments.

The APC won in Kubau, Kudan, Kagarko, Makarfi, Soba, Ikara, Sabon Gari, Kaduna North, Kaduna South, Giwa, Igabi, Chikun, Birnin Gwari, Sanga, Lere and Zaria local government areas while the  PDP won in Kaura, Kauru, Jama’a , Jaba, Kachia and Kajuru local government areas.

The APC victory was greeted with celebrations by thousands of its members who trooped to the streets within the metropolis in jubilation as they drove dangerously on motorbikes and cars, chanting “Chanji” and scaring other road users.