Activist and former Minister of Education, Oby Ezekwesili has tackled Senate President, Ahmad Lawan for promising loyalty of the 9th Assembly to President Muhammadu Buhari.

Lawan had in a statement earlier in the week, assured Buhari that the 9th National Assembly will give him all the support he needed to take the country to the next level, promising him that, “we will not fail you.”

But the former minister took to her twitter handle, @obyezeks on Thursday to disagree with the Senate President, arguing that the loyalty of the lawmakers should be with the people, not the president.

“A Senate President and his colleagues at the National Assembly who were elected to represent the People of Nigeria pledges their loyalty to an “Imperial Presidency”. Imagine” she wrote.

“Oath of a Member of the National Assembly or of a House of Assembly “I, ….. do solemnly swear/affirm that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to the Federal Republic of Nigeria; that as a Member of the Senate/House of Representatives/ House of Assembly I will perform my functions honestly to the best of my ability, faithfully and in accordance with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and the law, and the rules of the Senate/House of Representatives/House of Assembly and always in the interest of the sovereignty, integrity, solidarity, well-being and prosperity of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

“That I will strive to preserve the Fundamental Objectives and Directive Principles of State Policy contained in the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and that I will preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria; and that I will abide by the Code of Conduct contained in the Fifth Schedule of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. So help me God.

“Our Senate President needs to learn the Language of Democracy: The President is subordinate to the Constitution, the Nation and the Nigerian People.

“Now let me kindly fix your statement: “I Will Not Fail the Nigerian People”— Senate President of Nigeria.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here